This category includes books that include general information about teeth, such as types and functions of teeth, number of teeth that children and adults have, and parts of the tooth.

Highly Recommended

Loose Tooth

Mari Schuh

Capstone; 2008

ISBN: 1-4296-1243-6

Key: M, AR, DC

Comments:

• Provides basic information about the process of losing a tooth, including food options while a tooth is loose
• Includes large photographs
• Also available in paperback

NOTE: Available from publisher.

Un diente esta flojo/ Loose Tooth (Bilingual)

Mari Schuh

Capstone; 2010

ISBN: 978-1-4296-4598-0

Key: M, AR, DC

Comments:

• Provides basic information about the process of losing a tooth, including food options while a tooth is loose
• Includes large photographs
• Also available in paperback

NOTE: Available from publisher.

Mouth

Cynthia Klingel, Robert B. Noyed

Gareth Stevens Publishing; 2010

ISBN: 978-1-4339-3368-4

Key: M, AR

Comments:

• Basic introduction about the mouth and ways to keep it healthy
• Simple wording and actual photographs
• Also available in paperback

NOTE: Available from publisher.

Mouth/La boca (Bilingual)

Cynthia Klingel, Robert B. Noyed

Gareth Stevens Publishing; 2010

ISBN: 978-1-4339-3744-6

Key: M, AR

Comments:

• Basic introduction about the mouth and ways to keep it healthy
• Simple wording and actual photographs
• Also available in paperback

I Know Why I Brush My Teeth

Kate Rowan

Scholastic; 2000

ISBN: 0-439-13568-0

Key: F, T, N, DC

Comments:

• Covers several topics including importance and function of teeth, and ways to keep them healthy
• Good for children ages 5+

NOTE: As of October 2015, this book is longer available for purchase.

All about Teeth

Mari Schuh

Capstone Press; 2008

ISBN: 978-1429617840

Key: FL, M, AR

Comments:

• Provides basic information about teeth and ways to keep them healthy
• Image of flossing technique---provides teachable moment for emphasizing proper flossing technique; For current recommendations, click here.
• Includes large photographs
• Also available in paperback and as an eBook

Todo sobre los dientes (Bilingual)

Mari Schuh

Capstone Press; 2008

ISBN: 978-1429617840

Key: FL, M, AR

Comments:

• Provides basic information about teeth and ways to keep them healthy
• Image of flossing technique---provides teachable moment for emphasizing proper flossing technique; For current recommendations, click here.
• Includes large photographs

NOTE: As of April 2020, this book is longer available for purchase.

Snacks for Healthy Teeth

Mari Schuh

Capstone Press; 2008

ISBN: 978-1-4765-1227-3

Key: N, M, AR, DC

Comments:

• Provides information on how healthy foods make teeth and gums strong
• Explains how poor food choices can harm teeth
• Includes large photographs
• Good for children 4+
• Also available as an eBook

Antojitos para dientes sanos (Bilingual)

Mari Schuh

Capstone Press; 2010

ISBN: 978-1-4296-4599-7

Key: N, M, AR, DC

Comments:

• Provides information on how healthy foods make teeth and gums strong
• Explains how poor food choices can harm teeth
• Includes large photographs
• Good for children 4+
• Also available as an eBook

The Tooth Book

Dr. Seuss

Random House; 2003

ISBN: 978-0375824920

Key: F, T, N, DC

Comments:

• Entertaining storybook with rhyming text and colorful illustrations
• Provides information on the importance of teeth, ways to keep them healthy, and dental safety in a light-hearted way