This guide includes online resources that focus on the interests and research needs of the dental & dental hygiene professional. Please feel free to suggest any useful websites for inclusion to Mary Ann Williams, Librarian to the School of Dentistry.
The MEDLINE database from the National Library of Medicine includes citations with abstracts from approximately 3,900 biomedical, dental and nursing journals.The database is divided into various year segments.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's Medline database that provides abstracts and indexing for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries and includes additional older citations and out of scope citations from Medline journals.
SCI Expanded is a multidisciplinary database covering over 5,300 scientific and technical journals across 164 disciplines from around the world. Approximately 70% of the articles indexed include searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts. 1992 to present. Updated weekly.
The American Psychological Association authors this index which provides citations with abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, book chapters, technical reports and other documents pertaining to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present and is updated weekly.
Updated monthly, this repository for ready-to-use tests and measures from the APA includes topics that are relevant to dentistry, such as anxiety, oral hygiene behaviors, pain assessments, dentist-patient communication, and more.
The Cochrane Library contains a variety of regularly updated evidence-based medicine databases. It also contains systematic reviews of healthcare interventions that are formed and distributed by The Cochrane Collaboration.
Lexi-Comp's dentistry includes information on drugs and natural therapeutics, oral diseases, implants, endodontics, clinical periodontics, oral surgery for the general dentist, treatment of medically compromised patients, and in-office medical emergencies. Also included are drug monographs for more than 1600 drugs, as well as drug identification and drug interactions and instant dental alerts for selected medications.
NetAnatomy is designed to teach human anatomy to students of the health professions, including undergraduate medical, health sciences, and nursing students. NetAnatomy also serves as a place to review anatomy after one’s initial exposure to the subject, e.g. students beginning a clinical rotation, USMLE (National Board) preparation, etc