Skip to main content
The HS/HSL is a part of the University of Maryland, Baltimore | My UMB The Elm UM Shuttle Google Apps@UMaryland Blackboard

601 West Lombard Street
Baltimore MD 21201-1512

Reference: 410-706-7996
Circulation: 410-706-7928

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based personal citation manager that allows you to create, manage and organize a personal database of citations, generate reference lists in the citations style of your choice, and insert citations in your papers.

Exporting Guides

This page will provide you information on how you can export citations from a variety of databases, from other citation management tools, and from one RefWorks account to another. 

Exporting References from One RefWorks Account to Another

You can export references from one RefWorks Account to another. This may be useful if you want to merge multiple RefWorks accounts or share information with a colleague.

  • Log into the RefWorks account you want to export references from.
  • Scroll Over References
  • Click on Export
  • Choose Which references to include (this may be all references or a specific folder)
  • Select Refworks Tagged Format and then save the file that is created to your computer
  • Log into the RefWorks account you want to import references into
  • Scroll over References
  • Click on Import
  • Select RefWorks Tagged Formated as your Import/Filter Data Source
  • Leave Database as Tagged Format
  • Browse for file you created and open it
  • Click on Import

Note: When you export references from once account to another, full text attachments will not be exported, only the citation

Exporting Citations from RefWorks to Excel

You can export citations from RefWorks to Excel. You might want to do this to organize information and easily view abstracts. There are several steps you have to take to do this:

  • In RefWorks go to the folder you want to export references from. If you want to export all References you do not need to do this.
  • Scroll over References and then on click on “Export”.
  • On the next screen, select "All in List".
  • From the Select an Export Format drop-down menu, select “Tab Delimited," and then click on Export References.
  • A new page will open. Save it as a text file (.txt)
  • Open Excel, Click on the Data Tab, then click on the From Text Icon.
  • Select your file you just created and click on “Open.”
  • A “Text Import Wizard” dialogue box will open; make sure the file type “Delimited” is selected; click on the “Next” button; make sure the Delimiters choice, “Tab” is selected; click on the “Next” button and then click on the “Finish” button.
  • The spreadsheet will open containing the references. You will note that all fields of the records have been exported to Excel including the abstracts. You can remove whichever fields you do not want and rename the column headings.

Exporting References from Ebsco Databases

This tutorial from the HS/HSL  will show you how to export References from Ebsco Databases including CINAHL, SocIndex, and Academic Search Premiere into your RefWorks account.

Importing References from PubMed

This tutorial from the HS/HSl will show you how to import references from PubMed into your RefWorks account.

Exporting References from OVID Databases

This tutorial from the HS/HSL will show you how to export References from OVID Databases including Ovid Medline, PsycInfo, and EBM Reviews into your RefWorks account.

Importing References from Google Scholar

This tutorial from the HS/HSL will show you how to import references from Google Scholar into your Refworks account.