Skip to main content
The HS/HSL is a part of the University of Maryland, Baltimore | My UMB The Elm UM Shuttle Google Apps@UMaryland Blackboard

601 West Lombard Street
Baltimore MD 21201-1512

Reference: 410-706-7996
Circulation: 410-706-7928

NIH Public Access Policy

The instructions on this page provide steps to ensure compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy.

How to add citations to My Bibliography

1. Sign into My NCBI and go to My Bibliography. Click on "Manage My Bibliography".

Image mybibliography-Image004.jpg

2. Click the Image mybibliography-Image005.jpg button.

3. Type in a full author name or last name and initials and click "Search PubMed".
Image mybibliography-Image006.jpg

4. Select the citations you'd like to add to your My Bibliography and click "Add to My Bibliography". When you close the window, these citations will automatically display in My Bibliography.

Image mybibliography-Image007.jpg

You may also add items manually or from a file.

NOTE: You are responsible for ensuring that any NIH funded publication for which you were either an author OR the PI of the grant.  This means you may need to include articles for which you were not an author but which were supported by a grant you are a PI on.

Add Delegates

You may add a delegate to access your My Bibliography collection or your SciENcv profile.

  1. Log into My NCBI and click on your login name in the top right corner of the page.
  2. Under 'Delegates', click on "Add a Delegate".
  3. Enter the delegate's email address, and click ok. Your delegate will receive an email with a URL to confirm the delegate connection.
  4. You can modify delegates' access by checking or unchecking the boxes under the My Bibliography or SciENcv columns of your delegates section. You can also remove delegates in this section.

Image preferences-Image006.jpg

Confirm Delegate Connection

If you have been assigned to be a delegate for someone's My Bibliography and that person has already added you as a delegate in their account you can follow the steps below to confirm.

  1. Sign into your My NCBI account.
    • If you don't have an account follow the instructions on this page to create a new My NCBI account.
  2. Respond to the confirmation email you received from My NCBI by clicking on the included URL.
  3. Click on the "Confirm Connection" button. You will now see a link for the bibliography for which you are a delegate under Collections.

Image mybibliography-Image043.jpg