Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
601 West Lombard Street
Baltimore MD 21201-1512
Drug Information and Clinical Tools
All apps are free and available for both iOS and Android unless otherwise indicated. Note: The HSHSL does not endorse the use of any specific application.
Micromedex Drug Information, Drug Interactions, IV Compatibility, NeoFax, and Pediatrics
These 5 apps are included in the library's Micromedex subscription. Log in to Micromedex on a computer or mobile device. Click on the "Download Mobile Apps" button in the bottom right. Follow the steps to set up one or more of the apps on your mobile device.
Access to the UpToDate app is included in the database subscription provided by UMMC. To use the app, first access the database to create an UpToDate account. Then use your UpToDate account to log into the app.
VisualDX This link opens in a new window
Access to the VisualDX app is included in our database subscription. To use the app, first access the database to create a VisualDX account. Then use your VisualDX account to log into the app.
The mobile app version of the LactMed database on the effects of drugs and other substances on breastfeeding.
Drug Information Portal Mobile
The mobile version of the NLM's Drug Information Portal website. Save the mobile URL to the home screen on your mobile device for easy access.
Orange Book Express
The mobile app version of the Orange Book. Links to iOS and Android versions are in the top right corner of the page.
About Herbs (iOS only)
This app includes evidence-based information on herbal medicines and complementary therapies. Search by product/therapy name or by medical condition.
App version of Drugs@FDA site. Links to the apps for iOS and Android are at the top right of this page.
Includes drug monographs, drug interaction checker, pill identifier, clinical articles selected by field experts, medical news, and brand name OTC products. The app and a portion of the content are free, and additional content can be unlocked with a paid subscription. New users will be prompted to create an account.
PubMed for Handhelds
This app is the mobile version of PubMed and it features PICO searching, Clinical Queries, askMEDLINE (natural language searching), a journal browser, and a Consensus Abstract search. Available free for iOS and Android.
Cochrane Library App
This app contains a portion of the content that is available in the Cochrane Library. It is geared towards keeping current on the latest Cochrane reviews rather than conducting literature searches. Available free for both iOS and Android.