This category includes books that discuss what to expect at a dental visit including general procedures of a dental visit, who works in a dental office, and roles of oral health professionals.

Highly Recommended

At the Dentist

Mari Schuh

Capstone; 2008

ISBN: 1-4296-1242-8

Key: M, AR, DC

Comments:

• Basic introduction to a dental visit; good for young children
• Includes large photographs
• Mentions dental sealants
• Also available in paperback

At the Dentist/ Vamos al Dentista (Bilingual)

Mari Schuh

Capstone; 2010

ISBN: 978-1-4296-4596-6

Key: M, AR, DC

Comments:

• Basic introduction to a dental visit; good for young children
• Includes large photographs
• Mentions dental sealants

NOTE: As of April 2020, this book is longer available for purchase.

Going to the Dentist

Usborne; 2010

ISBN: 079452592X

Key: F, T, N

Comments:

• Text mentions dentist numbing tooth with gel; however, image shows dentist using a needle
• Explains process of having a tooth filled without using anxiety producing words
• Encourages routine dental visits
• Also available in paperback

Dentists Help

Dee Ready

Capstone; 2013

ISBN: 978-1620650813

Key: FL, F, N, M, AR, DC

Comments:

• Highlights the role of the dentist
• Simple wording and actual photographs
• Provides teachable moment that dental drills are different in size and function than other types of drills that children may be familiar with
• Also available in paperback and as an eBook

Dentists

Kristin L Nelson

Lerner Publications Company; 2005

ISBN: 0-8225-1688-8

Key: FL, M, AR

Comments:

• Highlights the role of the dentist
• Shows actual photographs of dental instruments and explains purpose of each
• Encourages good oral hygiene to prevent dental problems
• Image of child flossing provides teachable moment to explain proper flossing technique; For current recommendations, click here.
• Also available in paperback

Max Goes to the Dentist

Adria F. Klein

Picture Window Books; 2006

ISBN: 978-1-4795-0314-8

Key: M, SP

Comments:

• Basic introduction to a dental visit; good for young children
• Simple wording; may be good for children with special needs
• Mentions brushing twice per day
• Provides teachable moment that many offices also have a dental hygienist who is part of the dental staff team (dental hygienists typically complete the "cleanings")

Max Va al Dentista

Adria F. Klein

Picture Window Books; 2007

ISBN: 978-1-4795-0539-5

Key: M, SP

Comments:

• Basic introduction to a dental visit; good for young children
• Simple wording; may be good for children with special needs
• Mentions brushing twice per day
• Provides teachable moment that many offices also have a dental hygienist who is part of the dental staff team (dental hygienists typically complete the "cleanings")

My Dentist, My Friend

P. K. Hallinan

Ideals Children's Books; 2002

ISBN: 978-0824953881

Key: M

Comments:

• Good for young children; rhyming text
• Encourages routine dental visits
• Includes image of child in a wheelchair

NOTE: As of April 2020, this book is longer available for purchase.

A Visit to The Dentist's Office

Patricia J. Murphy

Capstone Press; 2005

ISBN: 978-1-4765-0921-1

Key: M, AR

Comments:

• Basic introduction to a dental visit; good for young children
• Simple wording; may be good for children with special needs
• Includes large photographs

NOTE: As of April 2020, this book is longer available for purchase.

The Berenstain Bears Visit the Dentist

Stan and Jan Berenstain

Random House; 1981

ISBN: 978-0394848365

Key: M, AR

Comments:

• Storybook about going to the dentist
• Addresses the anxiety of having a loose tooth extracted in a positive way
• Positive description of having a cavity filled
• Only available in paperback

A Day in the Life of a Dentist

Heather Adamson

Capstone Press; 2004

ISBN: 978-0-7368-2282-4

Key: FL, F, N, M

Comments:

• Good depiction of day-to-day workings of a dental office/setting
• Good for children aged 6 and older
• Also available in paperback and as an eBook