Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
601 West Lombard Street
Baltimore MD 21201-1512
Major Websites and Statistical Compilations
CDC Data & Statistics
Provides data on a variety of topics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy
Data, Tools, and Statistics (National Library of Medicine)
Health statistics sites selected by the National Library of Medicine. Part of the Health Services Research & Public Health Information Programs.
The DiversityData project identifies metropolitan area indicators of diversity, opportunity, quality of life and health for various racial and ethnic population groups. This Website is available to users interested in describing, profiling and ranking U.S. metros in terms of quality of life. The indicators provide a scorecard on diversity and opportunity, and allow researchers, policymakers and community advocates to compare metro areas and to help them advocate for p
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
A rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people. NCHS is a unique public resource for health information - a critical element of public health and health policy.
Health, Disease, Vital Statistics
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
The world’s largest, on-going telephone health survey system, tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States yearly since 1984.
Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance.
CDC Vital Statistics
This page is a portal to downloadable public use data files released by the Division of Vital Statistics.
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The annual County Health Rankings measure vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income inequality, and teen births in nearly every county in America.
Healthy People 2030
Healthy People allows users to explore data and technical information related to the Healthy People objectives.
MedlinePlus - Health Statistics
National Library of Medicine - Includes general and specific conditions statistics, links to other statistical sources, and statistics from news sources.
Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
Studies from the CDC designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the U.S. Combines interviews and physical examinations.
Population, Housing, Economics & Crime
U.S. Census Search
Search data from the United States Census (population, income, etc.)
Bureau of Justice Statistics
BJS mission: To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to Federal, State, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
Analysis of U.S. Decennial Census Data through 2010 from William H. Frey, Brookings Institution and University of Michigan's Social Science Data Analysis Network.
Current Population Survey
The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.
ICPSR-Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Immigration Data Hub-Migration Policy Institute
Access to the latest immigration statistics, maps, and numbers for the United States and other countries. For example, find where Mexican immigrants live in the United States; the amount of remittances sent to India, Mexico, the Philippines, and Lebanon; and the top global destinations for Irish immigrants. The Data Hub showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the US.
KIDS COUNT is a national and state-by-state project of the Casey Foundation to track the status of children in the United States. At the national level, the principal activity of the initiative is the publication of the annual KIDS COUNT Data Book, which uses the best available data to measure the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children state by state.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
The mission of the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
National Historical Geographic Information System
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present.
Population Reference Bureau
The Population Reference Bureau informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
Interactive Data Application is an easy to use resource for accessing economic statistics.
Visit Ask Us! to find answers to common questions or chat with Information Services Staff