Statistics Resources: By Subject: A - C

This guide provides a starting point for locating health-related statistics available at the local, state, federal and international level. It provides general resources as well as links to specific subjects.

Abortion

Guttmacher Institute: Abortion
Includes many links to fact sheets, articles, reports, and more.

Accidents and Injuries

CSC- WISQARS
Collection provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of resources.
National Center for Injury Prevention and Control
Injury fact sheets, data, and statistics assembled by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Collection of publications on and data requests for crash statistics.
National Trauma Data Bank
Assembled by the American College of Surgeons.

Aging

Aging and Disability in America: Data & Research
Produced by the Administration for Community Living.
AgingStats.Gov
Collection of resources provided by the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics.
Healthy Aging: Data and Statistics
Collected by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Social Security: Research, Statistics, & Policy Analysis
Provided by the U.S. Social Security Administration.

AIDS/HIV

AIDSVu
AIDSVu is an interactive map that shows the prevalence of HIV in the U.S. at national, state, and local levels. This is a project of of the Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University in partnership with Gilead Sciences, Inc.
HIV/AIDS Statistics Center
Provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
HIV InSite
Resources sorted by countries and regions, provided by the University of California, San Francisco.
UNAIDS: Data & Analysis
Data collected by the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS.

Asthma and Allergy

Asthma Statistics
Compiled by the American Academy of Allergy Asthma & Immunology
Allergy Statistics
American Academy of Allergy Asthma and Immunology
CDC- Asthma Statistics
Collection of national and state level data.

Alzheimer's Disease

Alzheimer's Disease FastStats
Produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Alzheimer's Disease Facts & Figures
Statistics and information from the Alzheimer's Association.

Births

Maternal and Reproductive Health
Compiled by the Global Health Observatory (part of the World Health Organization).
National Vital Statistics System: Birth Data
Compiled by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Burns

Burn Incidence Fact Sheet
Produced by the American Burn Association.

Cancer

Center for Cancer Surveillance and Control (Maryland)
Part of the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene.
Cancer Facts & Figures
Compiled by the American Cancer Society.
Global Cancer Observatory
Compiled by the World Health Organization's International Agency for Research on Cancer.
Cancer Mortality Maps
Created by the National Cancer Institute.
Cancer Statistics
Compiled by the National Cancer Institute.
Public Access to Cancer Data
Compiled by the American College of Surgeons.
Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program
Part of the National Cancer Institute.

Child Abuse

Child Abuse and Neglect Fatalities 2016: Statistics and Interventions
Published by U.S. Department for Health & Human Services, Administration for Children & Families.
Children's Bureau: Statistics & Research
From the Department of Health and Human Services. Includes data on adoption, foster care, and child abuse and neglect.
National Child Abuse Statistics
Compiled by Childhelp (national non-profit organization).

Children

Kids Count Data Center: United States
Compiled by the Annie E. Casey Foundation.
Childstats
Produced by the forum on Child and Family Statistics.
Child Health USA
Published by the Health Resources and Service Administration (part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services).
Kids' Inpatient Database
Part of the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services).
MICS- Childinfo
Created by UNICEF the MICS( Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys) is a source of internationally comparable data of women and children worldwide.
State of the World's Children Reports
Published by UNICEF, each year the report closely examines a key issue affecting children.

Cosmetic and Plastic Surgery

Plastic Surgery Procedural Statistics (2016)
Published by the American Society of Plastic Surgeons.

Crime

Uniform Crime Reports
Produced by the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Produced by the Office of Justice Programs (part of the Department of Justice).

Ask Us

Visit Ask Us! to find answers to common questions or chat with Information Services Staff

	Email hshsl@umaryland.edu
	Call the Information Services Desk at 410-706-7995
	Text message 410-695-6362
	Request a consultation with a librarian