Statistics Resources: By Subject: D - M

This guide provides a starting point for locating health-related statistics available at the local, state, federal and international level. It provides general resources as well as links to specific subjects.

Dental Health

CDC: Oral Health Data
Provides data for U.S. states, including Maryland.
FastStats: Oral and Dental Health
Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics (part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention).
National Institute of Dental & Craniofacial Research: Data & Statistics
NIDCR supports the collection of statistics to document the magnitude of oral, dental, and craniofacial conditions and assess oral health trends in the United States.

Diabetes

NDIC Diabetes Statistics
Compiled by the National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse (part of NIH's National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases).
Diabetes Data & Statistics
Compiled by the Centers for Disease Prevention and Control.

Diet, Obesity, and Weight Loss

Overweight and Obesity Data & Statistics
Compiled by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Nationa Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
Administered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Disability

Annual Disability Statistics Compendium
Produced by the Institute on Disability at the University of New Hampshire. Pools together disability statistics from various federal agencies.
Disability Statistics
Produced by Cornell University.
Employment Statistics: People with Disabilities
Produced by the Bureau of Statistics (part of the United States Department of Labor).
United States Census - Disability
Produced by the United States Census Bureau (part of the Department of Commerce).

Drug Abuse and Alcoholism

Alcohol Epidemiologic Data Directory
Produced by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (part of the National Institutes of Health).
Alcohol Use Surveillance Reports
Published by the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (part oft he National Institutes of Health).
Drug Abuse: Trends and Statistics
Compiled by the National Institute on Drug Abuse.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Data
Data resources from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

Gastrointestinal Disease

Digestive Disease Statistics for the United States
Produced by the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (part of the National Institutes of Health).
FastStats-Digestive Diseases
Produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Health Care Financing

Global Health Expenditure Database
Compiled by the World Health Organization, includes new global estimates from 2000 to 2015.
HCUPnet (Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project)
Health & hospital statistics database administered by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services).
Health Costs & Budgets
Sponsored by the Kaiser Family Foundation. Includes data on health expenditures, prescription drug costs and sales, employment-based health premiums, hospital expenses, and tobacco settlement funds.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey
The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States.
Research, Statistics, Data & Systems
Compiled by the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

Health Personnel

Global Health Workforce Statistics
Collected and compiled cross-nationally comparable data on health workers for all WHO member states.
Health Workforce - U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Health Resources & Services Administration: Access Data Tools
The mission of the National Center is to provide a comprehensive store of health workforce data and intelligence.

Heart Disease and Stroke

Heart Disease Facts and Statistics
Produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Heart and Stroke Statistics
Produced by the American Heart Association.

Hospitals

AHRQ Data Sources
Produced by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services).
Department of Defense (DoD) Hospital Performance Data
Provided by the Military Health System (MHS). Able to download inpatient quality and safety measures on Hospital Compare for military hospitals in the United States.
HCUPnet (Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project)
Health & hospital statistics database administered by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services).
Research & Trends
Produced by the American Hospital Association.
Survey of Resident/Fellow Stipends and Benefits
Published by the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Kidney and Urologic Disease

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases: Statistics
Health statistics from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) at the NIH
United States Renal Data System
Funded directly by the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, site collects, analyzes, distributes information about chronic kidney disease (CKD) and end-stage renal disease (ESRD) in the United States.
Publications and Statistics
Published by the American Board of Urology

Medicare and Medicaid

Research, Statistics, Data & Systems
Compiled by the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
HCUPnet (Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project)
Health & hospital statistics database administered by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services).

Mental Health and Mental Illness

FastStats: Mental Health
Produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
The National Institute of Mental Health: Statistics
Produced by the National Institute of Mental Health.
Data, Outcomes, and Quality
Produced by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.

Minority Health

Office of Minority Health: Policy and Data
Produced by the Office of Minority Health (part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services).

Ask Us

Visit Ask Us! to find answers to common questions or chat with Information Services Staff

	Email hshsl@umaryland.edu
	Call the Information Services Desk at 410-706-7995
	Text message 410-695-6362
	Request a consultation with a librarian