This category includes books that discuss ways to take care of the teeth and gums, including brushing, flossing, use of fluoride, healthy foods and drinks, and regular visits to the dentist.

Highly Recommended

Brush, Floss, and Rinse: Caring for your Teeth and Gums

Amanda Doering Tourville

Picture Window Books; 2009

ISBN: 978-1-4048-4805-4

Key: FL, F, T, N, SP, AR

Comments:

• Mentions protection of teeth with mouthguards when playing contact sports
• Mentions regular dental care
• Current guidelines recommend the use of fluoride toothpaste for children (smear for under age 3, pea-size for 3 +).

NOTE: As of April 2020, may only be available as an E-book from publisher.

Brush, Floss, and Rinse: Caring for your Teeth and Gums (Bilingual)

Amanda Doering Tourville

Picture Window Books; 2012

ISBN: 978-1-4048-6889-2

Key: FL, F, T, N, SP, AR

Comments:

• Mentions protection of teeth with mouthguards when playing contact sports
• Mentions regular dental care
• Current guidelines recommend the use of fluoride toothpaste for children (smear for under age 3, pea-size for 3 +).

NOTE: As of April 2020, may no longer be available as an E-book from publisher.

Ready, Set, Brush

Matt Mitter

Reader's Digest Children's Books; 2008

ISBN: 978-0794414450

Key: T

Comments:

• Interactive pop-up board book
• Features Sesame Street characters
• Mentions brushing twice per day
• Mentions brushing tongue
• Produced in collaboration with the American Dental Association

Brushing Teeth

Mari SchuhCapstone; 2008

ISBN: 978-1429617864

Key: F, T, SP, AR

Comments:

• Mentions brushing twice per day
• Mentions not sharing a toothbrush with others

Toothful Tales: Becoming Me Cavity Free

Jeanette Flannery Courtad, DDS

Mentors International Publications; 2015

ISBN: 978-0-9822352-00000

Key: FL, F, T, N, DC

Comments:

• Storybook that contains important oral health messages for expectant/new mothers
• Good for children ages 4+
• Includes oral health tips for both child and caregiver
• Selected in 2015 for a CIPA EVVY  Merit Award

Available for purchase at: https://www.toothfultales.com/

Brush, Brush, Brush

Alicia Padron

Scholastic Inc.; 2010

ISBN: 978-0531252369

Comments:

• Board book; good for young children
• Illustration shows pea-size amount of toothpaste (accurate for children 3+); larger illustrations are helpful when reading to a group
• Current guidelines recommend the use of fluoride toothpaste for children (smear for under age 3, pea-size for 3 +).
• Book can be sung to the tune of a familiar children's song

Brush Your Teeth Please

Leslie Mcguire

Studio Fun; 2013

ISBN: 978-0794430405

Key: FL

Comments:

• Interactive, pop-up board book; good for young children
• Emphasizes brushing all tooth surfaces

Mari Schuh

Capstone Press; 2008

ISBN: 978-1-4765-1225-9

Key: FL, M, DC, SP, AR

Comments:

• Provides an introduction to flossing
• Image of flossing technique---provides teachable moment for emphasizing proper flossing technique; For current recommendations, click here.
• Depending on child’s age and fine motor skills, parents should be encouraged to floss for and/or supervise a child flossing

Mari Schuh

Capstone Press; 2010

ISBN: 978-1-4296-4600-0

Key: FL, M, DC, SP, AR

Comments:

• Provides an introduction to flossing
• Image of flossing technique---provides teachable moment for emphasizing proper flossing technique; For current recommendations, click here.
• Depending on child’s age and fine motor skills, parents should be encouraged to floss for and/or supervise a child flossing

Pony Brushes His Teeth

Michael Dahl

Picture Window Books; 2013

ISBN: 978-1-4048-5727-8

Comments:

• Board book; good for young children
• Portrays modeling after dad
• Image of toothpaste on brush is too much for a child (but just right for a horse!)---provides teachable moment for emphasizing proper amount of toothpaste
•  Current guidelines recommend the use of fluoride toothpaste for children (smear for under age 3, pea-size for 3 +).
• Also available as an eBook

Have You Ever Seen a Moose Brushing His Teeth?

Jamie McClaine

JAFS Inc.; 2003

ISBN: 978-0970953322

Comments:

• Entertaining storybook
• Good for children ages 4+